Lessons learned from my kitchen remodel

Every year since starting our business,  we tear up, tear down and rebuild a room in our house.  Our home isn’t old per se, it was built in 2001 but when we bought it in 2008, everything was contractor grade. It had awful, short,ugly brown carpet throughout  (and still does in the upstairs ) and don’t get me started on the pine colored kitchen cabinets with the cheapest of the cheap light color $.39 a foot wood laminate. Last year we remodeled the front room and loving room and this year my hubby wanted to tackle the kitchen.  After months of my reluctance because I was scared and clueless,  I relented. Now that I have a functional kitchen again after 8 weeks,  I could not be happier. Here is a before shot with our contractor grade, blah cabinets and awful, cheap $.39 a foot laminate flooring. 20171004_184328.jpg

We had a couple of individual cabinet companies come give us bids,  but they just specialized in cabinets and I needed way more help than that.  We wanted new floor, lighting, appliances, paint and fixtures.  I went into our local Lowe’s and saw they had a kitchen designer who would come to your home and measure your room and help you design it.  After calling and leaving 3 messages and never getting a return call,  I decided to hit up Home Depot.  I am not getting paid or any kick back for saying this,  but the local Home Depot and the experience was amazing.  I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to remodel. That,  however is not my intent on writing tonight.

On to the lessons learned. One,  everything does not have to be perfect all the time.  I hate clutter and mess stresses me.  Being without any running water or plumbing on our main level meant coffee pot, coffee mug and electric skillet being left on the stairs landing to be carried upstairs to wash out in my bathtub. Did I mention that Jay thought since we were having tile put in the kitchen,  we should have the same tile put in the downstairs half bath?  Which meant the toilet and sink had to be ripped up.  So I’d put the essential dishes on the stairs to be washed but often would not get around to washing them till late at night.  I just had to remind myself often that there are worse things to be stressed over than a few dishes.

Second, I adore Jay and all his handyman skills, but he often has different priorities then I do.  I would see all the “pretty stuff” that needs to be done and I would be pushing for him to do them. He would see the necessary work and the things that need to be done before you can complete the next step. I am so glad he is an attention to detail person as I tend to be a big picture person. There still is finishing touches that need to be completed but at this rate, they will have to wait until after New Year’s.

Third, it really wasn’t as bad as I thought living without running water and a toilet on our main level. It took about a week to get used to coming in from running errands and having to go pee just to realize I had to haul butt up the stairs to do that.  I wasn’t tied to washing that one single dish that was in the sink just because I could or because it was bothering me that it was in there. I learned to overlook the dishes and clutter, which meant a lot less stress for me.

Finally, I really do like cooking and missed it when I couldn’t.  Granted Smith’s grocery down the street had some really good, already prepared food that all we had to do was heat up in the microwave.

Here are our after pictures

Let’s just pray that I can remember these lessons learned and keep applying them.

Leave a comment